I just figured out a solution to a problem that has been driving me nuts for a while now. I own an iPad2 and all of a sudden the built in speakers stopped working. This happened to my iPhone before and plugging some headphones in and out a couple of times seemed to fix it.

The iPad was a different story. Nothing seemed to work. All the forums online were saying the same thing. reset it or take it to the apple store. I try to avoid that place like it’s a nickleback concert so I figured I’d try everything I could before making that horrible trip.

In the settings menu there is a button that you can toggle the mute button on the side of the iPad from “mute” to “Lock Orientation” I had it on Lock Orientation. Once I switched it to Mute and then did the headphone trick, BOOM! everything was working again… Until the next day…

I ended up having to put the iPad in DFU mode and then do a reset through iTunes.

To put any iOS devise in DFU mode:

• Plug device into computer and open iTunes

• BACK UP YOUR DEVICE!

• Hold the Home + Sleep/Wake buttons for 10 Seconds

iPad

• Release ONLY the the Sleep/Wake button and continue to hold the Home button for 15 seconds

iTunes should then recognize the device is in DFU mode and walk you through the restore process. If not, then repeat the steps above.

TADA! Another stupid Apple annoyance FIXED

Let me know if you have any other information on this topic or if you would like me to try and help with any another issue.

